Cabal Online Review Part 1

I started this blog with the goal of documenting my gaming habits for personal use. Being a fan of old-school MMORPGs, it wasn’t that difficult a choice for me to start off with Cabal Online. It was created during what I consider to be the “Golden Age” of MMORPGs, when the genre boomed with the sudden increase of new titles, mostly from Korea. Games like Ragnarok, Lineage, and Legend of Mir were my choice channels of escape into wonderful, colorful worlds populated with thousands of equally doe-eyed players – but Cabal was, at the time, one which I overlooked.

This review is long, and there are holiday commitments to attend to, so I’ve decided to split it into two parts. This first part is a general overview of the “presentation” of Cabal, which covers things like my first impressions based solely on appearance and the new player experience.

Cabal Online could just very well pass off as just another generic MMO but that is not the case. Although the MMO genre does have its own clichés as to what an MMO is, what it should have, and what it should never be, Cabal Online could easily be distinguished among the crowd in numerous ways and the most striking ways of which would be its artwork.

Aside from the stimulating art style, the game also offers many easter eggs - or in this case, Christmas eggs.

Aside from the stimulating art style, the game also offers many easter eggs – or in this case, Christmas eggs.

It has a unique style of artwork that incorporates some form of “East meets West” vibe to it in the most subtle sense, as well as it having merged Magic, Science, and Fantasy – and they seem to make it work. The game is set in the world of Nevareth which I won’t get into much detail as the game does have an expansive universe for it. The quick summary is that there was this all too familiar clash between good and evil and a war broke off between these forces.

There is another force in the game universe, appropriately called “The Force.” It’s a magical/fantastical element that somehow the game blends into science quite well. Officially the game is listed in the sci-fi genre but one can’t deny the fantasy elements.

Anyway, it is this “force” thing in the game that allows the game to be less boring – by allowing more character classes. Without this “force”, the game would just be this generic MMORPG with the usual sword, archer, mage classes – however the ‘force’ does spice things up.

The game offers six classes: namely, the Warrior, the Blader, the Wizard, the Force Archer, the Force Shielder, and the Force Blader. As daunting as that sounds this is how the characters are in simpler words: Heavy Swordsman, Agile swordsman, Wizard, Magic-using Archer, Magic-Using Sword and Shield Warrior, Magic-Using Swordsman (a.k.a. the game’s Jedi class). In a sense the game only has three classes but with this “force” energy, it expands to six. The latter ones are just the same as the first three classes but they are just characters who, in the game’s universe, have learned to make use of this “force”. The game allows up to six simultaneous character profiles allowing the player to effectively try every class on his or her first try. In my case, I tried the Force Shielder class.

The main reason for my trying the Force Shielder is that it sounds like the type of class I normally play in most MMORPGs. I usually take the role of a tank, soaking up damage and taking “aggro” so that the softer, more glass-cannon-type teammates can successfully land their high-damaging attacks.

I’ve logged my experiences into my mind’s journal ever since I first logged onto its webpage. My first impression on this game in general is that it’s very hospitable and accommodating to beginners. I wanted to prove my hypothesis by picking the most unfamiliar character to me in general and work with that for reviewing this game, the very character that takes me so completely out of my element. If I could make something of the game despite that great handicap, no doubt this game scores some very high points in user-friendliness.

This hypothesis wasn’t at all unfounded as I’ve come to this impression from the game’s beginner’s guide located here. It details everything from how to download, how to install, even to the point where you should get into the hang of the game and you no longer need a guide. Despite all of these, the game still proves its beginner user-friendliness in-game.

That’s it for now. The real meat and substance of the review will be made available tomorrow, or as soon as I find the time to write something up. If you’re interested in my personal take on the game, thank you – and stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

